Mini Skirt Journalism

"A news story should be like a mini skirt on a pretty woman. Long enough to cover the subject but short enough to be interesting." – Anonymous

Breaking Journalism Law

OK, so it’s been months since I’ve written a post. In many ways, not posting for months at a time is like breaking journalism law. I’ve had friends ask me when I was going to write, and I kept assuring them it would be soon. I lied.

It hasn’t been for a lack of ideas. In fact, I have several drafts for posts written that needed a bit of tweaking before I posted them. In upcoming weeks, I’m going to rework them and post them. We have a lot to catch up on.

In the meantime, I’ll update you a little bit on my life and career goals.

After taking a break for a semester, I returned to the Ball State Daily News in January as the newspaper’s copy chief and opinion editor. This spring, I was also part of an immersive learning project that worked with the Delaware County Courts and created a social media system and template.

I just graduated from Ball State and I’m trying to figure out what my next step is. A good problem to have: I have experience in different areas of journalism and I’m not sure which avenue I want to take. A friend and I are also exploring an idea for a multimedia company, which I’ll be sure to post more about once the time comes.

Keep checking Mini Skirt Journalism for posts about the gender gap in journalism, the ethics of opinion writing, Oprah Winfrey’s visit to Ball State and the evolution of news media.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in Journalism, Social Media, Women.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

